Tweeting with the Professional Writing Community – Tomasetti

Mirroring back in my computer screen reflection is a disgruntled face; brows pressed down toward the bridge of my nose and a peeved scowl. I am staring at my Twitter account, running my eyes back and forth amongst the varied individuals I elected to follow earlier this semester. I was given a mission; a mission that required interacting with the professional writing community. Using hashtags, retweets, and favoriting I was to implement a conversation with someone outside my Intro to Writing Arts classroom.

That mission was not fulfilled.

It seems that those in the professional community did not find the time to either read posts I had made regarding them or they did not have any interest communicating with a lesser-known “professional” writer. What a pity! I was really looking forward to mingling with these savvy Twitter users. I was supposed to document the conversation I had with said user(s) and analyze our interaction. Since no conversations occurred, I suppose I can take this opportunity to reflect on the cons of tweeting to professionals/celebrities. Before this writing arts module I did not have Twitter account. But because of this class, along with another technology course, I have learned that Twitter is a social media site where connections are formed, conversations are started, and common interests can be shared in mass numbers. In theory and in practice, this is a great concept. However, when it comes to reaching out and being reached back by those who have thousands upon thousands of followers, starting a conversation is easier said than done. Twitter feed is constantly updating. Consequently, conversations cease to exist since they are often camouflaged and lost in the masses of fluttering tweets. Granted, there are exceptions. I know fellow classmates that were lucky enough to tweet and retweet with other professionals. I on the other hand was not so lucky.

https://twitter.com/gina_tomasetti/status/565003858536321026

https://twitter.com/gina_tomasetti/status/563020152510627843

Aside from being completely ignored by the professional writing community (It’s okay, guys. No hard feelings. I will survive!) I did have some rather engaging and helpful Twitter conversations with my peers. My experience live-tweeting, be it while I was in class or in the comfort of my own home, aided greatly in my understanding of the assigned texts. Our readings were scholarly articles and often contained information I was never exposed to let alone understood on the first read. Using Twitter to express my questions, comments, or concerns relating to the readings did help me better comprehend the material.

https://twitter.com/gina_tomasetti/status/563015096864346113

https://twitter.com/gina_tomasetti/status/563018141840982016

I still feel very new to Twitter and think that maybe if I were more adequate in the tweeting department I would have had a better chance of conversing with a professional writer or public figure. The articles assigned for this class were helpful yet I remain a foreigner to this blue bird logo. Eventually I will have a firmer grasp on those pesky 140 characters and nifty hashtags. In time, especially if I will be using Twitter for future class assignments, I hope to become a more active and fluent user. For now: #NeedToStepUpMyTwitterGame #TweetTweetTweedledee #IWonderIfJimmyFallonOrJTWillHashtagBack? #NotAChance #Womp.

Jimmy-Fallon-And-Justin-Timberlake-Have-A-Real-Life-Twitter-Conversation-Hashtag

Leave a Reply

