Pechu Kucha – Tomasetti

A Walk Through A Slide:

Pecha Kucha. Sounds to me like an extinct dinosaur or scary tribal ritual. Though both guesses are creative, neither are correct. Pecha Kucha is in fact a way of presenting PowerPoints (I know, a little bit of a buzzkill). With 20 slides, 20 seconds per slide, and just images with no added text, this fast-paced format has been traveling around the globe since creators Astrid Klein and Mark Dytham came up with the concept. Miraculously, Pecha Kucha made its way into my very own Intro to Writing Arts course and is now of topic. Therefore, welcome! Here’s ME telling YOU, yes! YOU dearest reader, of my thought process in selecting the images for “The 20 Year Old Struggle – Pecha Kucha Presentation”. Fastened your seat belts… it’s going to be one heck of a ride.

The goal of the “The 20 Year Old Struggle” is to bring awareness of actual issues happening in many, if not most, emerging adults’/college students’ lives. While this is something to be taken seriously, my group and I also incorporated a great deal of comic relief to breakup the distress and to give our readers something to laugh with as well as laugh at. This being said, our Pecha Kucha presentation utilized rather goofy images to mellow out some of the pensive topics. Of my five slides, there was one in particular that I really wanted to emphasize as a way to poke fun at our blog. Slide number 14 has a meme of Sweet Brown (the infamous interviewee who is now a social sensation) with a twist on her Channel 4 debut, “I got Bronchitis! Ain’t no body got time for that!”. Instead of the original saying the meme has “Slow wifi? Ain’t nobody got time of’ dat!”. I thought this meme was perfect for our Pecha Kucha for two reasons. For one, I loved that this was something many readers would easily recognize and laugh our loud at. Who doesn’t love Sweet Brown’s account of seeing her neighbor’s house on fire? Hate to break it to those that disagree, but you have no soul/nor sense of humor. It’s one of the greatest YouTube videos and for that reason, it tied in perfectly to this technology based presentation. Secondly, whoever created the meme deserves major props for choosing “slow wifi” as the Bronchitis replacement. Having slow wifi is something a number of twenty year olds struggle with on the daily. Call it a “first world problem”, but when you live in a world where we are constantly seeking instant gratification, instant access, speed, and efficiency, slow wifi just isn’t cutting it.

Sweet-Brown-Wifi

“The First World Problems Of Living With Second World Internet Speed” posted on Adam Kmiec’s blog, The Kmiec Ramblings, talks of the costs of paying for wifi even though connections remain insufficient. Of all the things twenty year olds are packing (i.e. carbs, heavy backpacks, energy drinks) money is not one of them. We can’t always afford the best of the best internet connection nor do we necessarily have a say in which internet provider is available. We are given what we are given, especially if living on a college campus. I really liked Kmiec’s blog and thought it was suiting to the message I wanted to promote for this Pecha Kucha assignment. Although Sweet Brown may not have thought of slow wifi as a reason to “run for her life”, it’s something twenty year olds struggle with on a daily basis.

Thinking back on my group’s presentation, I don’t think I would opt to change this slide’s image. I truly feel as though it speaks to the message of our blog and to the message of what we wanted to showcase in our Pecha Kucha. I like the sass and wit of the meme and the relationship it shares with the narrative read aloud. Because let’s face it, slow wifi? Psh, ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat!

What I Learned About My Blog Topic:

Earlier this semester, sometime in late January, I remember sitting at a computer screen trying to think of a topic for a blog with my newly assigned group. There we were: the four of us- complete strangers- meshed together based upon a common major; dazing off and searching our minds for something remotely interesting (perhaps something simple) that could be our blog’s topic. After about five minutes contemplating and laughing mutually at one another for drawing blanks, someone made the suggestion and we rolled with it. Huzzah! The 20 Year Old Struggle was born. I felt confident in our choice because it was something all four of us could easily write about and make a connection with to the readings. You might be asking yourself (if you weren’t keeping up with previous blog posts) what we mean by “struggles”. Basically, we define struggles of a 20 year old to be anything that causes stress, dismay, unwanted negativity, and trouble within our lives. There is something so distinctly unique about being 20. Some might say 18 is the age you are officially an adult, but really 20 is the age when everything comes full circle. It was through collaborating and reading my fellow group mates blogs that I recognized just how unique problems in a person’s 20’s can range, and yet seem all the same since many of us are experiencing them together. If there is one thing I have learned from working on this blog it is the fact everyone faces something that gets in the way of, well, life. From school, to parents, our social lives, and our self-esteem, this blog has shown me (more than I realized prior to writing for it) that if you are 20 and feeling down and out, you’re not alone. What was even more enlightening about our blog was connecting our topic to the assigned readings. At first I didn’t really see how all the mandatory articles regarding technology could tie into the topics I wanted to reflect upon. However, somehow everything fused together into one heaping pile of blog rants. Not to mention, I thoroughly enjoyed reading someone from an older generation be just as confused as I was about Twitter (massive high-five to Margaret Atwood’s article). Additionally, reading Kevin Kelly’s “We Are the Web” helped argue my point of view for my first blog page “To: The Babyboomers. From: The Millennials. Patching Up the “Generational” Blogging Gap”. I will admit that at first I was overwhelmed by the amount of readings and the topics they embodied. Nonetheless, these articles turned my hesitation into initiative; they brought out so many ideas that lead me to think outside the box. These articles were educational and relevant. I would also like to admit that I think having this blog as a writing outlet unleashed creativity I hadn’t stimulated in a while. It was an uplifting experiencing to have others read and agree with personal struggles my group and I were brave enough to document for all of the web to see. Now that this module for Intro to Writing Arts has come to an end, I can say that it has been quite the experience blogging and that I am extremely proud to have been a part of a blog group who put so much though and effort into each and every post. To all our readers, whether they be in their 20’s or not, I hope you gained as much from this WordPress page as I have. Now, if you will excuse me, I have some additionally homework, a test to study for, two other projects, dishes in the sink, e-mails to respond to, and I still owe my grandmother a phone call. Ah, to the 20 year old struggle!

Leave a Reply

