Reyna- Reaction to Facebook

Facebook Reaction-

Many people are addicted to social media, whether it’s Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or the popular app Snap Chat. All of these social creations are a way for people to communicate with one another from all over the world, at any time with a simple click of a button or like. In today’s society, instead of saying send me a letter, we have no control over ourselves than to say without hesitation “hit me up through Facebook or DM me” how ironic. It has been an extremely eye opening experience observing how the world of technology has advanced over the years, making it harder for humans to give up their addictions to social media. I myself, is guilty of being addicted to social media, especially Instagram and Snap Chat. Facebook has become less popular over the years, being over powered by all these new social media sites. I personally only use Facebook to communicate with family members who are older.

For our class assignment, we had to give up using any foundation of social media, in this case I chose Instagram and Snapchat, my two major addictions. Being away from social media was not enjoyable at all, I felt disconnected from my peers and my social circle. Customarily in the morning the first thing I would do is check my phone, leading to the opening of the Instagram or snap chat icons, scrolling for minutes eventually running late to class. Checking social media have become part of my everyday routine. Not being able to use it for one whole week was killing me slowly, but it was doable and rewarding. I noticed many changes throughout my days. I would usually take longer to get my work done due to constantly stopping to check Instagram and Snap Chat, without these distractions I was able to finish my work faster than usual. I also noticed that whenever I am in an awkward situation, I rely on my phone for safety. The fear of getting embarrassed is what leads many of us to find comfort in our devices. Try putting your phone down and observe the people walking around strangers or people walking into a crowd of complete strangers and their first reaction would be to pull out their phones. Overall the experience was very rewarding and attainable.

download

3 Comments

  1. Love this! It is so true and yet never realized how much our phone is a safety for us in awkward situations. Like when you walk in a room and you know no one. ” I know, someone will talk to me on Instagram, or Facebook” and then suddenly , you’re not alone. But another thing you pointed out for me and is extremely important is, how many times are our faces in our phones, not paying attention to our surroundings? This is so dangerous especially for young children. We are making it easier to be abducted by not knowing the strangers that are around us and what they are doing. Good article. Thanks for the insight.

    Like

  2. I really like the way you described your struggles without social media. I find it beneficial to step aside and forget the addiction sometimes…We really do rely on it so much. Like you said, when we want to avoid something or someone, or perhaps a situation, we look to our phones for protection. This is why a lot of people these days lack communication and confrontation skills.

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading your post about a week without your social media. I will admit, it was hard for me to be away from Facebook for that long, but I still had other social medias to browse while bored out of my mind. And Instagram was one of those social media apps. I absolutely love it. I honestly don’t know how you went that long without it. But, I do agree with you on how people use their phones for safety. After reading those last few lines, I realized that I, too, use my phone that way. It’s almost like a security blanket. I also feel that it does make “awkward” situations less awkward, in some sense. Some people are bad around large crowds, so they use their phone for protection. But I do think it’s something that people should not do so often. People are glued to their phones so much that they forget to even communicate properly or with people right in front of them, and that is something I think society needs to improve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

