Reaction to Atwood – Tomasetti

First and foremost, is there anything cuter than a petite old woman wearing spunky glasses? Actually, there is. That same petite old woman with spunky glasses sitting so properly at a wooden desk to blog. Ah, I can’t wait for my “golden years”.

tumblr_l026c7wYBT1qa1cnp

Margaret Atwood may be pushing well into her seventies, but she is still a spry contributor to the writing community. Before reading her article, “Atwood in the Twittersphere“, I unfortunately was not aware her. Shame on me, I know. I did, however, a little bit of research to familiar myself with the adorable and ever so charming writer. I wasn’t surprised to find she claims several titles (novelist, poet, activist) and has earned many awards since the late 1960’s (as if she wasn’t already cool for blogging about Twitter).

What I really liked about Atwood’s article was it’s genuine quality. I felt as if I was sitting across from her on the Queen Mary 2 exchanging opinions over a warm cup of tea. Sigh, if only. In all seriousness, she did a fantastic job in sharing her experience with joining Twitter. I know many of my English/Writing Professors are going to turn hot at what I am about to say, but Atwood’s article was “relatable”. Reason why I put relatable in quotations is due to the fact that a handful of my professors have emphasized how much they hate the word since… and I quote: “how can something be relatable if we don’t all share the same opinion, lifestyle, or similarities?” Okay, so maybe not everyone can agree to Atwood’s interpretation of Twitter but for me personally I could relate. How so? Let me use her own word’s as an example.

“The Twittersphere is an odd and uncanny place. It’s something like having fairies at the bottom of your garden. How do you know anyone is who he/she says he is, especially when they put up pictures of themselves that might be their feet, or a cat, or a Mardi Gras mask, or a tin of Spam?”

Yes, Atwood! Yes! I am digging your vibe, and by that I mean I too find Twitter to be a bit odd.

After having my account since the beginning of this semester I still find it overwhelming with all the miscellaneous feed and protocol for hash tagging and retweeting. It’s a learning process, that’s for sure! But like Atwood said, “Let’s just say it’s communication, and communication is something human beings like to do.” She’s absolutely right. We can all tear a page (copy and pasta, download, retweet… whatever floats your boat) out of her book. Why do I hear Rod Sterling’s voice saying, “You are traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land of imagination. Next stop, the… TWITTERSPHERE!” Dun, dun, duhhh!

Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 7.33.08 PM

1 Comment

  1. I am LOOOOVVVIIINNNNGGGG this post! Okay, maybe my love is a little emphasized, but I really enjoyed it. First off, the way you wrote it was amazing. Between the seriousness, to the sarcasm, to the jokes…it’s like pure genius. When you talked about finding twitter odd, I loved how you used Atwood’s own quote to describe it. And, I’m not gonna lie, even when I first started out on Twitter, it was really weird to me. I didn’t get what it was about, or even how to use it “properly”. I used it for a summer when I was 15, and then it wasn’t until my freshman year of college that I started using it again. It took me awhile even then to grasp the idea of Twitter. But now, it’s honestly my biggest social media obsession! I wouldn’t call myself an expert on the site, but I will say, I found my way around it, and I think I finally understand somewhat about what Twitter “is”. Don’t give up on it or yourself just yet!! If you give it some more time, you may fall in love with it, like I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

